Main Content

New Counties Added For FEMA Assistance

Release date: 
September 8, 2008
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) assistance to individuals and households is now available in Adair, Callaway, Chariton, Harrison, Macon, Monroe and Putnam Counties. These counties have been added to the initial 20 counties declared June 25 for FEMA's individual assistance.

The action makes a wide range of programs available to residents, such as funding for temporary disaster housing assistance, replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs, and expenses not covered by insurance or assistance programs.

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations are also available to repair or replace damaged or destroyed property. Economic Injury Disaster Loans (EIDL) help meet working capital needs caused by the disaster. EIDL assistance is available regardless of whether the business suffered any property damage.

Those in the new counties suffering loss and damage from the severe storms and flooding between June 1 and Aug. 13 should register for assistance at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Telephone lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. and will be available until Sept. 30. Applicants can also register at

When registering, provide your Social Security number and the name shown on your Social Security card. Be ready with the following information:

  • Your current phone number;

  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;

  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered;

  • If insured, the name of your company or agent and your policy number;

  • General financial information;

  • Bank account coding if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit.

Register with FEMA even if you have insurance. FEMA does not duplicate insurance payments, but applicants who are under-insured may be reconsidered after claims have been settled.

Residents of Andrew, Cass, Clark, Gentry, Greene, Holt, Johnson, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Livingston, Marion, Nodaway, Pike, Ralls, St. Charles, Stone, Taney, Vernon, and Webster are currently eligible to register for FEMA assistance if they have not done so already. People who have already registered for FEMA assistance and who suffered damage during the additional time period (July 19 through Aug. 13) should contact FEMA to update their information.

Public Assistance is now also available to the counties of Adair, Knox, Monroe, Putnam, Randolph, Saline, Schuyler, Scotland and Worth Counties. This assistance reimburses states in behalf of local government applicants for eligible expenses for debris removal, emergency protective measures as well as the repair or restoration of roads, bridges and public buildings damaged in the disaster.

State and local governments will be notified of upcoming applicant briefings to be conducted by the state. Applicant briefings explain how agencies can connect with FEMA for assistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: