Don't Let Rental Assistance Lapse - Update Your Status With FEMA

Main Content
Release date: 
September 5, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis. -- Residents receiving rental assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) due to this summer's severe storms and flooding should let FEMA know if they still need housing assistance, said emergency management officials.

"We remain committed to ensuring that everyone affected by the disaster has safe and sanitary housing," said Dolph Diemont, federal coordinating officer for Wisconsin disaster recovery. "However, residents need to provide the required paperwork if their housing need continues beyond the initial two month grant."

Wisconsin residents may have received emergency grants to pay for alternate housing when their homes were made unlivable or became inaccessible because of severe storms and flooding. These short-term grants can be renewed only if residents file a Declaration of Continuing Need for Temporary Rental Assistance.

The declaration forms are mailed to all applicants who receive rental assistance about two weeks after rental assistance begins. Applicants must fill out and return the declarations to FEMA before they can be considered for an extension of rental assistance beyond the initial grant.

Residents declared eligible for disaster assistance should call the FEMA helpline at 1-800-621-3362 if they have questions about their emergency rental assistance. Those with hearing or speech impairment can call the toll-free TTY number, 1-800-462-7585. Both lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to 11 p.m. until further notice.

Residents of the following 30 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster assistance to individuals: Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago. The application deadline is 11 p.m., Sept. 15.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top