FEMA, State Public Assistance Program Helping Idaho Communities

Main Content
Release date: 
August 28, 2008
Release Number: 

POST FALLS, Idaho -- On July 31, 2008, President Bush declared a major disaster for Idaho, focused on helping local government and tribal entities and certain nonprofit organizations in two counties recover from damages caused by flooding between May 15 and June 9, 2008. The counties named in the declaration to receive help are Kootenai and Shoshone.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security (BHS) are currently working with applicants to estimate and document the costs of repair and helping them complete applications for assistance. The documentation process is still in its early stages, but estimates of eligible damages at this time include:

  • Over $1 million for the Eastside Highway District to cover repairs to county roads  
  • Approximately $175,000 for Kootenai County for reimbursement for protective measures taken during the flooding  
  • More than $300,000 for Shoshone County to cover repairs to roads and bridges  
  • Approximately $89,000 for Shoshone County for reimbursement for protective measures taken during the flooding.

FEMA and BHS are estimating to develop and help fund over 50 projects with 6 applicants. The projects covered by the Public Assistance Program are currently estimated to total nearly $1.9 million. FEMA will provide 75 percent of the project funding, while the State of Idaho will pay 15 percent and the local entities will provide the remaining 10 percent, either in cash or in-kind contributions.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top