If You Don't Agree - FEMA Has an Appeals Process

Main Content
Release date: 
August 12, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) offers an appeals process for any disaster aid decision. When applicants file an appeal, FEMA will review their case. Applicants wishing to appeal a FEMA decision should follow these steps:

  1. Before writing an appeal, applicants should refer to the information in their Applicant's Guide which they received after registration. The guide explains what expenses are covered. (If, after reviewing the guide, residents are still dissatisfied with the disaster aid decision, they should continue with the following steps.)

  2. Explain in writing why the amount of assistance is not correct. The letter must be signed by the person making the appeal, or by a member of the applicant's household. If the person who writes the letter is not a member of the household, there must be a signed statement from the applicant stating that person is authorized to act for the applicant.

  3. Include the FEMA registration number in the appeal letter.

  4. Mail or FAX the appeal letter to:
    FEMA - Individual & Households Program
    National Processing Service Center
    P.O. Box 10055
    Hyattsville, MD 20782-7055
    FAX: (800) 827-8112?? Attention: FEMA - Individuals & Households Program

The appeal letter must be postmarked within 60 days of the date on the decision letter.

Applicants may request information about their case by requesting a copy of their file by writing to:
FEMA - Records Management
National Processing Service Center
P.O. Box 10055
Hyattsville, MD 20782-7055

Applicants may also get guidance on this issue by calling the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top