Main Content

More Counties Get Public Assistance

Release date: 
August 11, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that it is providing Public Assistance (PA) to Wabash and Wayne Counties to help pay for emergency services and to repair or replace public facilities damaged by the May 30 - June 27 severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Public Assistance differs from some other forms of federal disaster assistance in that it's made available to help state and local governments recover from a disaster. Governmental entities, municipal authorities, and certain private nonprofit organizations in Wabash and Wayne Counties are now eligible for all categories of Public Assistance.

Under the cost-share program, FEMA Public Assistance funds 75 percent of the cost for eligible work by state and local governments and certain nonprofit organizations that provide public services. The state manages the grants for all projects. The remaining 25 percent non-federal share comes from state and local sources.

Government agencies and private not-for-profits providing essential governmental services in these new counties have 30 days from the date of designation to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) with state officials. Wabash County was designated on August 6 and Wayne County was designated on August 8 respectively.

The request forms can be downloaded at Fax the completed RPA to 317-598-8952. Applicants can contact their local emergency manager for more information. Briefings will also be scheduled in the near future to explain the process to prospective applicants.

There are now a total of 43 counties eligible for PA. The 41 previously designated counties are: Adams, Bartholomew, Benton, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Decatur, Fountain, Franklin, Gibson, Greene, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Jackson, Jay, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Switzerland, Union, Vermillion, Vigo and Washington.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: