Main Content

Final Three Disaster Recovery Centers to Close Soon

Main Content
Release date: 
August 5, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis. -- The Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Fond du Lac and Winnebago counties will close at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Aug. 9, disaster officials announced today. The Milwaukee County DRC is scheduled to close on Saturday, Aug. 16. Applicants with questions still can call the toll-free helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA.

"The number of daily applications has declined, and we feel that the majority of those needing assistance have taken advantage of all our center services," said Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) Dolph Diemont. As FCO, Diemont heads up the U.S. government's side of the disaster response and recovery in Wisconsin.

Following the closing of the Fond du Lac, Milwaukee and Winnebago county DRCs, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will open Disaster Loan Outreach Centers (DLOCs) in these counties at the addresses listed below. Individuals and business owners needing questions answered or assistance with their SBA low interest disaster loan applications are urged to visit these DLOCs.? A list of all open DLOCs is attached.

Found du Lac County DLOC
(opens Monday, 8/11)
UW Fond du Lac
400 University Ave.
Fond du Lac, WI? 54935
Mon - Fri:??? 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat:???????????? 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Winnebago County DLOC
(opens Monday, 8/11 at new location)
Oshkosh Seniors Center
200 N. Campbell Road
Oshkosh, WI? 54902
Mon - Fri:??? 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat:?????????? ??10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Milwaukee County DLOC
(opens Monday, 8/18)
Milwaukee City Campus
2711 Wells St.
Milwaukee, WI? 53208
Mon - Fri:??? 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat:???????????? 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Anyone affected is urged to call FEMA's toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to register (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. daily until further notice. Register online at ?24 hours a day.

"Anyone who applies for disaster assistance can access their needed information through the FEMA helpline," Diemont continued.? "The DRC is set up as a way for applicants to meet face to face with representatives from the various agencies providing disaster assistance.? This same help is available from representatives staffing the helpline service at 1-800-621-FEMA."?

Residents of 30 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster assistance for damages caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top