One Week Remains

Main Content
Release date: 
August 4, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Indiana residents and business owners in the 40 counties included in the presidential disaster declaration have until August 11 to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Eligible residents and business owners who sustained damage from storms and flooding that occurred from May 30 - June 27, should register for disaster assistance immediately.  New applications will not be accepted after the August 11 deadline.

Loan applications to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by August 11.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents who have not done so to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or, for the speech or hearing impaired, TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA Web site

Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362. 

Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or TTY 1-800-877-8339 or online at

To date, more than 16,000 Indiana residents have applied for disaster assistance. The total disaster funds approved for individuals affected by the disaster is almost $100 million, which includes approximately $50 million in low-interest SBA disaster loans for individuals and businesses.

The designated counties are: Adams, Bartholomew, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington and Wayne.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top