Main Content

Request for Public Assistance Deadline Nearing

Release date: 
July 30, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Indiana state and local agencies and certain private non-profit organizations that are eligible for federal disaster assistance have very little time left to apply.

Public Assistance (PA) funds for reimbursement or restoration are available in 41 Indiana counties as part of a presidential disaster declaration for severe weather and flooding May 30 ? June 27. These funds are for expenses or damage incurred during the disaster and cover items such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair or replacement of roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, utilities, parks and other facilities.

To apply, eligible agencies and organizations must first submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) to the State of Indiana. The request forms can also be downloaded at Fax the completed RPA to 317-598-8952. Applicants can contact their local emergency manager for more information.

Applicants have 30 days from the date their county was designated eligible for PA to submit an RPA. Counties were previously given a 30 day extension to the earlier deadline. Since some counties were designated on different dates, those counties also have different deadlines to submit.

Bartholomew, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Decatur, Greene, Hancock, Henry, Jackson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Madison, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Putnam, Randolph, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Vermillion, Vigo and Washington county applicants have until August 20 to submit their RPA.

The deadline for applicants in Adams, Gibson, Posey, Franklin, Ohio, Union, Hendricks and Switzerland counties is August 29th.

The deadline is September 8 for applicants in Benton, Fountain, Jay, Montgomery, Jefferson, Ripley and Marion counties.

No RPA will be considered after the county deadline.

To date, nearly 400 RPAs have been submitted, but officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) believe there are many other eligible organizations that have yet to apply.

Another important reminder, (Not to be confused with the Public Assistance deadline): Homeowners, renters and business owners impacted by the disaster have until August 11 to apply for FEMA Individual Assistance (IA). U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan applications for homeowners, renters, and businesses of any size for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by that date.

Individuals and businesses should call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Speech or hearing impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA Web site

Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955, TTY 1-800-877-8339 or online at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: