Main Content

Holt County Added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
July 29, 2008
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb.-- Homeowners, renters and business owners in Holt County who suffered losses because of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from May 22 through June 24 are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) announced today.

"This disaster designation will help those individuals and business owners who had serious damage to their property or serious disruptions in their daily lives because of the disaster." said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Willie G. Nunn.

Residents, business owners and those who work in the county can apply for programs that include temporary housing assistance, grants for disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other programs and low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. ?

The addition of Holt brings the number of counties included in the federal declaration to 16. The other counties are Buffalo, Butler, Colfax, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Gage, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lancaster, Kearney, Platte, Richardson, Sarpy and Saunders counties.

"We urge those who were affected to call the FEMA teleregistration line as soon as possible, said State Coordinating Officer Cindy Newsham. "The registration deadline is August 19, 2008. When they call, a specialist will answer any questions they may have about being eligible for aid."

The number to call is 1-800 621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800) 462-7585. Online applications are taken at

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: