Two Weeks Left To Apply

Main Content
Release date: 
July 28, 2008
Release Number: 

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Indiana residents and business owners living in the 40 counties included in the recent presidential disaster declaration have only two weeks to register for federal disaster assistance.

The designated counties are: Adams, Bartholomew, Brown, Clay, Daviess, Dearborn, Decatur, Gibson, Grant, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Henry, Huntington, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Pike, Posey, Putnam, Randolph, Ripley, Rush, Shelby, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, Washington and Wayne.

August 11, 2008 is the last day applications will be accepted by FEMA for Individual Assistance. Loan applications for homeowners, renters, and businesses of any size to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property also must be submitted by that date.

Federal and state disaster recovery officials urge eligible residents affected by storms and flooding from May 30-June 27 to apply as soon as possible by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Speech-or hearing-impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Individuals also may register for disaster assistance at the FEMA Web site

Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362. 

Individuals with SBA questions may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 or TTY 1-800-877-8339 or online at

To date, 16,392 Indiana residents have applied for disaster assistance. More than $90 million in disaster funds have been approved for individuals affected by the disaster. That includes more than $42 million in disaster loans from SBA.

If you receive a letter from SBA after you register for federal assistance with FEMA- be sure to open it and complete the forms inside. Returning the loan application is an essential part of the disaster recovery process even for individuals who do not want a loan.

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top