Main Content

Disaster Assistance Benefits Can Help Renters Recover from Disaster Losses

Main Content
Release date: 
July 23, 2008
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Nebraskans who rent instead of own their own home may not realize they can apply for a range of disaster recovery benefits. A renter who lives in one of the federally-declared counties and had losses because of the May 22-June 24 severe storms, tornadoes and flooding may be eligible for help with certain expenses, according to the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). ??

Under FEMA's Housing Assistance program and the state/FEMA Other Needs Assistance program, both renters and homeowners may receive a grant for uninsured or underinsured disaster losses that may include:

  • Rental assistance for temporary housing for applicants displaced from their residence;
  • Repair or replacement of necessary personal property (clothing, appliances, furnishings, special tools or clothing required for work);
  • Educational materials needed for school;
  • Eligible vehicle or transportation costs;
  • Moving and temporary storage costs;
  • Medical and dental expenses caused by the disaster;
  • Funeral & burial expenses related to the disaster.

Applicants are not required to take out a U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan but the SBA loan packet must be completed and returned to be considered for a grant. Grants are made for Medical, dental, funeral and burial expenses without having to complete the SBA forms. ?

"Renters and homeowners receive the same benefits, except for the obvious ones like homeowner repairs or the purchase of a new home to replace one that was destroyed," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Willie Nunn. "Renters should be sure to register for disaster assistance since they may also need help recovering when their household is seriously damaged by a disaster."

Register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired, or by going online at The declared counties are Buffalo, Butler, Colfax, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Gage, Hamilton, Jefferson, Kearney, Lancaster, Platte, Richardson, Sarpy and Saunders.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: