Disaster Public Assistance Briefing Scheduled For Lacrosse County

Main Content
Release date: 
July 18, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis. -- Disaster officials announce a briefing in LaCrosse County to help local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations apply for federal disaster recovery. This meeting will be open to county and local government representatives from areas affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began on June 5.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA's) Public Assistance (PA) Program provides federal funds to reimburse a minimum of 75 percent of the costs for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings and parks. The State of Wisconsin and the applying agency cover the remaining costs.

Government entities eligible to participate include state agencies, local governments and Indian tribal organizations.

Eligible nonprofit organizations must have a tax-exempt ruling from the Internal Revenue Service. Organizations eligible include educational, utilities, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, and temporary and permanent custodial care facilities (including those for senior citizens and those for individuals with disabilities). Also, museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, shelter workshops, homeless shelters and any health and safety service of a governmental nature may be eligible.

Eligible PA applicants may attend the following briefing:

LaCrosse County:
Tuesday, July 22 at 9 a.m.
County Administrative Center Building
Room 3220
400 4th St. North
LaCrosse, WI? 54601?

Anyone wanting to apply for assistance from the PA program should contact the LaCrosse County emergency director.

The 28 Wisconsin counties now eligible for PA are: Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, LaCrosse, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Monroe, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon and Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top