Two Weeks Remain For Georgians Affected By May Storms And Tornadoes To Register For Federal Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
July 8, 2008
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Residents and business owners in the 10 disaster-declared counties who sustained damage from the severe storms and tornadoes of May 11-12 have only two weeks left to apply for disaster assistance according to the Georgia Emergency Management Agency (GEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The counties are Bibb, Carroll, Douglas, Emanuel, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, McIntosh and Twiggs. More than $1.3 million in FEMA disaster assistance already has been approved along with another $1.8 million in low-cost loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Monday, July 22, is the last day applications will be taken for Individual Assistance and also the deadline for homeowners, renters, businesses of any size and nonprofit organizations to submit loan applications to the SBA. FEMA's toll-free registration number 800-621-FEMA (3362) is open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. seven days a week. Those who are speech- or hearing-impaired should call TTY 800-462-7585. Applicants also can register online anytime at

While no one is required to take out an SBA loan, completing the SBA application is a key part of the FEMA registration process. If you are a homeowner or renter, and SBA determines you cannot afford a loan, you may be referred to FEMA for other eligible assistance. Additional information is available at or by calling 800-659-2955.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top