Disaster Unemployment Assistance Can Help

Main Content
Release date: 
July 8, 2008
Release Number: 

LINCOLN, Neb. -- Nebraskans suffered not only home and personal property losses as a result of recent storms, flooding and tornadoes. Many were not able to work because their place of business was damaged during the serious weather events of May 22 ? June 24, 2008. Those whose jobs or livelihood were affected may be eligible for disaster unemployment benefits if they live or work in one of 15 counties included in President Bush's disaster declaration. ?

The disaster unemployment benefits program is funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and administered by Nebraska Workforce Development, Department of Labor. The deadline for filing an application for benefits is August 4, 2008.

You may apply if you live, work or own a business in one of the following counties: Buffalo, Butler, Colfax, Custer, Dawson, Douglas, Gage, Hamilton, Jefferson, Kearney, Lancaster, Platte, Richardson, Sarpy or Saunders.

Disaster Unemployment Assistance benefits are for those who:

  • Do not qualify for other unemployment insurance benefits;
  • Are unable to work because their place of employment was put out of operation or who are unable to travel to their work place due to the disaster;
  • Are self-employed but are prevented from working due to the disaster (must provide income tax forms, schedules SE and C or F or other proof of self-employment);
  • Have become the breadwinner or major support of a household because the head of the household died as a direct result of the disaster;
  • Cannot work because of an injury or illness caused as a direct result of the disaster.

For more information on disaster unemployment benefits call the Nebraska Claims Center at 402-458-2500.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top