Main Content

Dodge County Disaster Recovery Center To Close July 11

Main Content
Release date: 
July 7, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- The Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Dodge County will end operations at 7 p.m. on Friday, July 11, disaster officials announced today. Applicants with questions still can call the toll-free helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA.

?The number of applications received in this area has declined, and we feel that the majority of those needing assistance have taken advantage of the centers? services,? said Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) Dolph Diemont. As FCO, Diemont heads up the U.S. government?s side of the disaster response and recovery in Wisconsin. ?The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the state of Wisconsin keep DRCs open for as long as needed in each location.?

To date, the DRC in Dodge County, at the Public Safety Building, 128 Cross St. in Juneau, has provided help to more than 160 individuals and business owners with their disaster-related questions and concerns. The center will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until July 11. Applicants can visit any DRC or mobile DRC (MDRC). Lists for both are attached.

?We take a close look at all DRC activity and are committed to providing the best service possible to all those applying for disaster assistance,? Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Johnnie Smith said.? ?When we determine an area has been successfully served, we can then close that center and move its staff to a new area that has yet to be served.?

Anyone affected is urged to call FEMA?s toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to register (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585) from 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. daily until further notice. Register online at ?24 hours a day.

?Anyone who applies for disaster assistance can access their needed information through the FEMA helpline,? Diemont continued.? ?The DRC is set up as a way for applicants to meet face to face with representatives from the various agencies providing disaster assistance.? This same help is available from representatives staffing the helpline service at 1-800-621-FEMA.??

Residents of 29 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster assistance for damages caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government?s role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top