Main Content

Crawford, Vernon County Disaster Recovery Centers to Close July 6

Main Content
Release date: 
June 30, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis. -- The Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) in Crawford and Vernon counties will end operations at 7 p.m. on Sunday, July 6, disaster officials announced today. Applicants with questions still can call the toll-free helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA.

"The number of applications received in these two areas has declined, and we feel that the majority of those needing assistance have taken advantage of these centers' services," said Federal Coordinating Officer (FCO) Dolph Diemont. "Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the state of Wisconsin keep DRCs open for as long as needed in each location." As FCO, Diemont heads up the U.S. government's side of the disaster response and recovery in Wisconsin.

To date, the DRC in Crawford County, at North Crawford High School, 47050 County Road X in Soldiers Grove, has provided help to nearly 100 individuals and business owners.? In Vernon County, the DRC at Living Faith Church, 852 N. Main St. in Viroqua has assisted more than 160 applicants with their disaster-related questions and concerns.

"We take a close look at all DRC activity and are committed to providing the best service possible to all those applying for disaster assistance," Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Johnnie Smith said.? "When we determine an area has been successfully served, we can then close that center and move its staff to a new area that has yet to be served."

Anyone affected is urged to either call the FEMA's toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY 1-800-462-7585) or register online at Both registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

"Anyone who applies for disaster assistance can access their needed information through the FEMA helpline," Diemont continued.? "The DRC is set up as a way for applicants to meet face to face with representatives from the various agencies providing disaster assistance.? This same help is available from representatives staffing the helpline service at 1-800-621-FEMA."?

Residents of 29 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster assistance for damages caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, La Crosse, Manitowoc, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: