Racine County Disaster Recovery Center Opens Thursday

Main Content
Release date: 
June 25, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), operated by Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), opens on Thursday, June 26, in Racine County.

Ives Grove Office Complex Auditorium
14200 Washington Ave.
Sturtevant, WI 53177

Thursday, June 26: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.
Daily hours of operation: 10 a.m. ? 7 p.m., 7 days a week, until further notice.

The DRC is set up to help individuals and business owners who are registered for disaster assistance by answering their questions and providing them with information on FEMA disaster programs. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) staffs the DRC with customer service representatives who can help explain the disaster-loan program to homeowners, renters and business owners. Representatives from other state, federal and volunteer agencies also may be able to assist the applicants.
Anyone affected is urged either to call FEMA toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY-1-800-462-7585) or register Online at www.fema.gov. Both registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

Residents of 28 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster unemployment for loss of income caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, LaCrosse, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

Additional DRCs will continue to be opened. For a listing of DRCs now serving applicants, see attachment.

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top