Winnebago County Disaster Recovery Center Opens Wednesday

Main Content
Release date: 
June 24, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC), operated by Wisconsin Emergency Management (WEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), opens on Wednesday, June 25, in Winnebago County.

South Park School
1551 Delaware St.
Oshkosh, WI  54902

Hours of operation: 10 a.m. - 7 p.m., 7 days a week, until further notice.

The DRC is set up to help individuals and business owners who are registered for disaster assistance by answering their questions and providing them with information on FEMA disaster programs. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) staffs the DRC with customer service representatives who can help explain the disaster-loan program to homeowners, renters and business owners. Representatives from other state, federal and volunteer agencies also may be able to assist the applicants.

Anyone affected is urged either to call FEMA toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY-1-800-462-7585) or register Online at Both registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

Residents of 22 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster unemployment for loss of income caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac,  Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Kenosha, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

Additional DRCs will continue to be opened. For a listing of DRCs now serving applicants, see attachment. 

Columbia County

Columbus High School
1164 Farnham St.
Columbus, WI  53925
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Portage High School
301 E. Collins St.
Portage, WI  53901
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Crawford County

North Crawford High School
47050 County Road X
Soldiers Grove, WI  54655
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Dodge County

Public Safety Building
128 Cross St.
Juneau, WI  53039
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Milwaukee County

Milwaukee City Campus
2711 Wells St.
Milwaukee, WI  53208
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Sauk County

Reedsburg High School
1100 S. Albert Ave.
Reedsburg, WI  53959
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Vernon County

Living Faith Church
852 N. Main St.
Viroqua, WI  54665
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Winnebago County

South Park School
1551 Delaware St.
Oshkosh, WI  54902
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily beginning June 25

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top