Unemployment Benefits May Be Available For Wisconsin Citizens

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 2008
Release Number: 

Madison, Wis.? -- Individuals who can't work because of the severe storms, tornadoes and ongoing flooding that began on June 5 may be eligible to receive Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

The benefits are funded through the Federal Emergency Management Agency in a 26-week program administered by the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (WDWD).


To be eligible for DUA, you must meet all the following criteria:

  • Live in a county declared for federal disaster assistance (see list below).
  • Are not eligible for regular unemployment insurance benefits.
  • Unemployment was a direct result of the recent storms.
  • Live or worked in the disaster area.
  • Filed an application for DUA within 30 days of the official announcement date (check with your county's WDWD office for specific application deadline).
  • Have a legal right to work in the U.S.


One of the following conditions of unemployment must have occurred as a direct result of the disaster:

  • You no longer have a job.
  • Your work hours, services, or pay has been significantly reduced.
  • You were scheduled to start work, but now you do not have a job or you are unable to reach your workplace.
  • You cannot work because of an illness or injury you received as a direct result of the disaster.
  • You are self-employed and lost your source of income.
  • You became the household's major supporter because the head of the household died as a direct result of the disaster.

Residents of 22 Wisconsin counties may be eligible for disaster unemployment for loss of income caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding in Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac,? Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Kenosha, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top