Main Content

Columbus, Fall River Win Flood Program Reinstatement

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- The recent wave of flooding in Wisconsin has prompted two communities in Columbus County to seek - and win -- reinstatement into the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), disaster-management officials announced today.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) removed the towns of Columbus and Fall River from the program earlier this year because they had not developed requisite ordinances adopting their new Flood Insurance Rate Maps. Both communities have now fulfilled this requirement and are now reinstated.

"This is great news," said Federal Coordinating Officer, Dolph Diemont.  "Now flood insurance will be available for everyone in both communities - whether they are in a flood-hazard area or not.  It also makes everyone in the two cities eligible for all federal disaster aid."

The federal coordinating officer is appointed by the president to lead the federal portion of federal/state disaster response and recovery efforts.

The NFIP requires that communities participating in the program adopt and enforce an ordinance that meets or exceeds the minimum NFIP floodplain management criteria.  Communities that do not adopt adequate floodplain management regulations are suspended from the NFIP.  NFIP communities that have been suspended from the program are considered to be "sanctioned."

When a community no longer is sanctioned:

  • New flood insurance policies can be written and existing policies can be renewed.
  • Federal agencies can once again provide funds for permanent structural repair, reconstruction, or renovation of buildings within the "special flood hazard area" designated on that community's Flood Insurance Rate Map.
  • The Small Business Administration can disburse disaster loans to repair flooded houses and replace damaged personal property in that community.
  • FEMA's Temporary Housing Program can provide funds for the repair of an existing dwelling or purchase of a temporary living unit in the special flood hazard area of that community.
  • FEMA's Individuals and Household Program can offer grants for the repair of damaged structures located in the special flood hazard area of that community.
  • FEMA's Public Assistance Program, which provides funds to communities to help repair damaged infrastructure, will not reduce the maximum amount of funding the community will receive for structures located in special flood hazard areas
  • FEMA's Hazard Mitigation Grant Program may fund mitigation efforts, such as elevation projects, for insurable structures in the community's special flood hazard area.

The reinstatements of Columbus and Fall River free both communities from all restrictions imposed on sanctioned communities.

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: