Main Content

FEMA Providing Housing Assistance To Applicants In Inaccessible Areas

Main Content
Release date: 
June 21, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- Applicants for federal disaster assistance may receive a one-month housing grant through the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Temporary Housing Program if their houses cannot be reached by FEMA inspectors due to standing floodwaters.

"Ordinarily, a home must undergo an inspection before any disaster funds can be released," said Dolph Diemont, head of FEMA's disaster recovery team.  "Due to this ongoing circumstance, we are providing a one-month temporary housing rental grant to all applicants whose homes cannot be inspected now." 

When inspectors find a dwelling that cannot be verified, they will enter this fact into their daily report.  The name and address of the occupant will be provided to FEMA's Temporary Housing Program, and a one- month check will be forwarded to the applicant.

All applicants receiving this intermediate assistance are asked to keep any receipts connected to the rental of a temporary housing unit and notify FEMA, through the helpline at 1-800-621-3362, when the waters have receded and the home is accessible. Following the home inspection, additional assistance may be approved for the applicant.

"Our goal is to ensure that everyone left homeless by this flooding situation has the means to secure temporary quarters," said Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Johnnie Smith.  "By providing these individuals and families with emergency housing funds, FEMA is  providing the means that will help us through our present situation."

Anyone with losses and damages caused by the June storms, tornadoes and flooding is urged to file an application immediately with FEMA. Call the toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY-1-800-462-7585), or register online at www.fema.govBoth registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

Twenty-two Wisconsin counties are now eligible for damages and losses caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that affected individuals and business owners in Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, Kenosha, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since    June 5.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top