Second Columbia County Disaster Recovery Center Opens Saturday

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- A second Columbia County Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) opens on Saturday, June 21, disaster officials announced.

Portage High School
301 E. Collins St.
Portage, WI  53901 

Hours of operation:
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily until further notice

The DRC is set up to help individuals and business owners who are registered for disaster assistance with their questions and provide them with information on FEMA disaster programs. The U.S. Small Business Administration staffs the DRC with customer service representatives who can help explain the disaster-loan program to homeowners, renters and business owners. Representatives from other state, federal and volunteer agencies may also be able to assist the applicants.

Anyone affected is urged to either call the Federal Emergency Management Agency's toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY-1-800-462-7585) or register Online at Both registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

Nineteen Wisconsin counties are now eligible for damages and losses caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that affected individuals and business owners in Columbia, Crawford, Dodge, Fond du Lac,  Grant, Green, Iowa, Kenosha, Marquette, Milwaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

Additional DRCs will continue to be opened. For a listing of DRC's presently serving applicants, see attachment. 

Disaster Recovery Centers Now Open

Columbia County

Columbus High School
1164 Farnham St.
Columbus, WI  53925
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Portage High School
301 E. Collins St.
Portage, WI  53901
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily (opens 6/21)

Crawford County

North Crawford High School
47050 County Road X
Soldiers Grove, WI  54655
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Milwaukee County

Milwaukee City Campus
2711 Wells St.
Milwaukee, WI  53208
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Sauk County

Reedsburg High School
1100 S. Albert Ave.
Reedsburg, WI  53959
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

Vernon County

Living Faith Church
852 N. Main St.
Viroqua, WI  54665
10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top