Disaster Aid Approved For Individuals And Businesses Reaches $18.7 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2008
Release Number: 

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Federal disaster aid approved for individuals and businesses in Arkansas affected by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred March 18 through April 28 has reached $18.7 million, state and federal disaster-recovery officials said today. Assistance for local and state agencies and certain nonprofit agencies has reached $6.1 million.

Following is a summary of state and federal disaster recovery information through close of business June 12.

  • Nearly 12,700 individuals and households have applied for disaster assistance. 
  • $9.1 million in Housing Assistance has been approved for rental or temporary lodging and housing repair.
  • $1.4 million in Other Needs Assistance has been approved for personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance.
  • 7,502 home inspections have been completed.
  • 4,806 visits to Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) have been made by disaster-affected residents seeking recovery information.
  • Public Assistance grants totaling $6.1 million have been obligated to date in response to Requests for Public Assistance (RPAs) from public entities (counties, cities, and private, non-profit organizations that provide essential public services).
  • The SBA has approved $8.2 million in low-interest disaster loans to Arkansas residents and businesses. The SBA provides low-interest loans to homeowners, renters, non-profit organizations and businesses of all sizes that suffered damage from the March and April severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

Individuals who have become unemployed as a direct result of the March and April severe storms, flooding and tornadoes may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). So far, 52 applications for DUA have been received with funding of $25,303. The deadline for DUA in Arkansas is

  • Residents of Perry County must file by June 26.

Arkansans who live in Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Cross, Desha, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lee, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Monroe, Newton, Perry, Phillips, Poinsett, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, St. Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell counties who suffered damages and who have not registered yet, may call: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. Hours are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., daily. Applicants also can register online at www.fema.gov.

The deadline to register for assistance is June 27 for the March and April severe storms, flooding and tornadoes.

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top