Columbia County Disaster Recovery Center Opens Thursday

Main Content
Release date: 
June 19, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) operated by Wisconsin Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency opens on Thursday, June 19, in Columbia County.

Columbus High School
1164 Farnham St.
Columbus, WI  53925 

Hours of operation:
Thursday, June 19: 1 p.m. to 7 p.m.
June 20 until further notice: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. daily

The DRC is set up to help individuals and business owners who are registered for disaster assistance with their questions and provide them with information on disaster programs.  The U.S. Small Business Administration staffs the DRC with loan specialists who can help explain the disaster-loan program to homeowners, renters and business owners.  Representatives from other state, federal and volunteer agencies may also be able to assist the applicants.

Twelve Wisconsin counties are now eligible for damages and losses caused by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that affected individuals and business owners in Columbia, Crawford, Dodge, Green, Milwaukee, Racine, Richland, Sauk, Vernon, Washington, Waukesha and Winnebago counties since June 5.

Anyone affected is urged to either call FEMA's toll-free helpline, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), to start the registration process (those with speech or hearing impairments can call TTY-1-800-462-7585) or register Online at www.fema.govBoth registration services are operational 24 hours a day.

Additional DRCs will continue to open this week. 

FEMA coordinates the Federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

This release has been modified from its original version.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top