Main Content

Flood Victims Get Help With Many Disaster Expenses

Release date: 
June 10, 2008
Release Number: 

CLINTON, Miss. -- Bolivar, Warren, Washington and Wilkinson County March 20 flood victims who do not qualify for a disaster loan from the Small Business Administration (SBA) may be referred to the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Other Needs Assistance program to help with disaster-related expenses.

To determine an applicant's eligibility for a disaster loan, he or she first must register with FEMA for disaster aid. After registering, a determination will be made regarding the registrant's eligibility for an SBA disaster loan.

If an applicant is determined to be not qualified for a loan, his application will be forwarded to FEMA for consideration of grant money.

Some of the expenses that may qualify for grant money are:

  • Medical and dental costs;
  • Funeral expenses;
  • Repair or replacement of personal property such as clothing, room furnishings, appliances, and necessary educational materials like computers, school books, and supplies;
  • Repair or replacement of specialized tools, protective clothing and equipment required for work;
  • Clean-up items such as a wet/dry vacuum;
  • Repairing or replacing vehicles damaged by the disaster, or for other transportation costs; and
  • Moving and storage expenses.

More than $205,000 has been approved by FEMA and the state for this aid under the Individuals and Household Program.

If you are a homeowner, renter, or business owner who has flood losses, call the FEMA registration line at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Individuals with hearing or speech impairments should call TTY 1-800-462-7585. The toll-free lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., daily, until further notice.

You can also register online at

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: