Main Content

Residents In Craig, Latimer And Pittsburg Counties Eligibe For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
May 26, 2008
Release Number: 

MIDWEST CITY, Okla. -- Residents in Craig, Latimer and Pittsburg counties who experienced property damage or other losses due to the severe weather, tornadoes and flooding that occurred May 10-13 are now eligible for federal and state disaster assistance. The presidential disaster declaration for Ottawa County has been amended to include the above counties. The assistance is coordinated by the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Those affected may apply for disaster assistance by calling a toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- and hearing-impaired. Lines are staffed from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week, until further notice. Registration can also be completed online at

The following information is requested when applicants register for assistance whether by phone or online:

  • Social Security number
  • Current telephone number
  • Current mailing address
  • Physical address of the damaged property
  • Brief description of damages and losses
  • Insurance information
  • Bank account number for those who wish to receive electronic funds transfer

Those affected by the disaster may also visit a Disaster Recovery Center, where they can speak face to face with representatives of various assistance programs. FEMA applicant assistance workers can view applications online and provide guidance. Representatives of the U.S. Small Business Administration can provide information about the administration's low-interest loans that are available for residential and business losses that are not fully compensated by insurance. SBA representatives can also provide help in completing applications and receive completed applications. All who visit a center can get ideas about ways to reduce their risk of losses in the future.

Locations, dates and hours are below.

  • For Ottawa and Craig counties:
    Community Center (behind city hall)
    116 Devilliers Circle
    Picher, Oklahoma
    9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Mon.-Sat. and noon-6 p.m. Sun.
    Open until further notice

  • For Latimer County:
    Yanush Community Center
    Yanush, Oklahoma
    1-6 p.m. Wed. May 28 and Sun. June 1; otherwise, 9 a.m.-6 p.m. Thurs. May 29-Tues. June 3
  • For Pittsburg County:
    Address, dates and hours to be announced soon

Visiting a Disaster Recovery Center is voluntary and optional. As detailed above, registration can be completed by phone or online. Those who choose to visit a center may go to the one that is most convenient for them. It is not necessary to go to the one closest to home. No cash, checks, debit cards or vouchers are distributed at the centers. Their purpose is to provide information to assist in recovery.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terrorism.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top