Main Content

President Declares Major Disaster for Kentucky

Main Content
Release date: 
May 19, 2008
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster aid has been made available for Kentucky to supplement commonwealth and local recovery efforts in the area struck by severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, mudslides, and landslides during the period of April 3-4, 2008.

FEMA Administrator David Paulison said federal funding is available to the commonwealth and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, tornadoes, flooding, mudslides, and landslides in Anderson, Crittenden, Fleming, Fulton, Hancock, Hopkins, Lewis, Livingston, McLean, Nicholas, Ohio, Spencer, and Woodford counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures all counties in the commonwealth.

Paulison named W. Michael Moore the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Moore said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: