Disaster Assistance Approved for Penobscot County

Main Content
Release date: 
May 16, 2008
Release Number: 

AUGUSTA, Maine - Residents of Penobscot County can now register for federal disaster assistance for damages related to the flood event that struck Maine beginning April 28. This aid is in addition to that already approved following the declaration of a federal disaster by President Bush on May 9.

Individuals or Households in Penobscot County can register for assistance online at www.fema.gov or by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., seven days a week until further notice. Those with speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

"Now more Mainers will be able to receive assistance," said Ginnie Ricker, state coordinating officer for the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). "It's also important to note that residents who have called Maine 2-1-1 or the Red Cross will now need to contact FEMA."

Disaster assistance for individuals provided by FEMA and MEMA may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance. SBA disaster loans can also be used to replace personal property lost by renters or homeowners.

"This additional assistance is another demonstration that the federal government and Maine are partners in the recovery process. We will continue to work with the state to address the needs of those affected by this event," said Phil Parr, federal coordinating officer.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top