Main Content

Public Assistance Approved for Six Maine Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 14, 2008
Release Number: 

AUGUSTA, Maine - The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that six Maine counties affected by the recent flooding are now eligible for federal aid through the Public Assistance program. Aroostook, Knox, Lincoln, Piscataquis, Somerset and Waldo counties have been added to the major disaster declaration by President Bush on May 9 which provided assistance to individuals and businesses in Aroostook County.

"This now opens the door of federal aid to these six counties for public property and infrastructure damage," said Ginnie Ricker, state coordinating officer for the Maine Emergency Management Agency (MEMA).

Under the Public Assistance program local governments in the designated counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

“Ensuring that vital public services are restored as quickly as possible is part of FEMA's mission to help Maine achieve a lasting recovery,” said Phil Parr, federal coordinating officer.

A series of applicant briefings for local officials will be held where procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained by MEMA and FEMA officials. Briefings began today in affected counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: