Main Content

Tomorrow is the Last Day to Register for Federal Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
May 5, 2008
Release Number: 

BLOOMINGTON, Ill. -- Only one day remains for Iroquois and Livingston County residents to register for federal disaster assistance.

The application period closes tomorrow, May 6, for homeowners, renters and business owners who had damage from the severe storms and flooding Jan. 7 through March 14. ?President Bush issued a major disaster declaration for the two Illinois counties on March 7 and the application period ends 60 days from that date.

To apply by the May 6 deadline, residents should call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for speech- or hearing-impaired applicants. Both lines will be available for applicants until tomorrow at 6 p.m. (CDT).? Residents also may apply online at until midnight tomorrow.

FEMA disaster workers will continue to process the cases of individuals who already have applied, but they will not accept any new telephone or online applications after tomorrow?s deadline. Applicants who have questions about the disaster assistance programs or questions about the status of their previously filed applications should continue to use FEMA?s toll-free Helpline at 1-800-621-3362.?

Tomorrow also is the last day to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for disaster-related losses to real and personal property not covered by insurance. If homeowners, renters and business owners do not return the SBA applications, they may not be considered for further federal assistance.? For SBA assistance, residents may call the SBA Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the hearing-impaired).

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: