FEMA Aid to Agencies Expanded to Vernon and Dade Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 2008
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has expanded Public Assistance to include Vernon and Dade counties.

Public Assistance funding is available to state and local governments and certain private non-profit organizations. FEMA will fund a minimum of 75 percent of eligible disaster-related debris removal and emergency protective measures (such as police, fire and medical), as well as permanent work that includes road and bridge repair, and repair and restoration of public buildings, utilities and recreational facilities.

The counties authorized as eligible for Public Assistance are: Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Camden, Dade, Cape Girardeau, Carter, Cedar, Christian, Crawford, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Howard, Howell, Iron, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, Montgomery, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Pemiscot, Perry, Phelps, Pulaski, Reynolds, Ripley, Saint Clair, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Washington, Wayne, Webster, and Wright.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top