President Declares Emergency Federal Aid for Ohio

Main Content
Release date: 
April 24, 2008
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON, D.C. -- The head of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal aid has been made available to supplement state and local response efforts in the area struck by record snow and near record snow ?during the period of March 7-9, 2008.

FEMA Administrator David Paulison said federal funding is available to the state and eligible local governments in the counties of Ashtabula, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Geauga, Greene, Hardin, Huron, Lake, Morrow, Richland, Union, and Wyandot.?

Paulison said that federal funding is available on a cost sharing basis to save lives and protect public health, safety and property over a continuous 48-hour period during the incident period.? Snow removal and emergency protective measures will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding.

Paulison named Michael H. Smith as the federal coordinating officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top