Disaster Assistance Update: Three Weeks into Disaster Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
April 10, 2008
Release Number: 

ATLANTA, Ga. ?-- More than three weeks have passed since severe storms and tornadoes ripped through seven Georgia counties. Local, state and federal officials are working to help get affected Georgians back on their feet.

The counties of Bartow, Burke, DeKalb, Floyd, Fulton, Jefferson and Polk were declared eligible for Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Individual Assistance programs under a major disaster declaration and subsequent amendments. Burke, Fulton and Jefferson counties were also declared eligible for FEMA's Public Assistance program, which helps rebuild public infrastructure.

A three week snapshot:

  • As of April 10, a total of 1,387 individuals, households and businesses have applied for disaster assistance since the Presidential declaration March 20.

  • A total of 287 individuals and households have been approved for $1,058,700 in disaster-related assistance under the Individuals and Households Program.

  • Of that total, 260 homeowners and renters have been approved for more than $645,000 under FEMA's Housing Assistance Program. Housing Assistance helps pay for rental assistance, temporary lodging and housing repairs.

  • Through FEMA's Other Needs Assistance Program, 119 individuals and households have been approved for $181,000. Other Needs Assistance helps cover personal property loss, medical costs and other serious disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance to individuals and households.

  • The SBA has issued 837 applications for disaster loans to individuals and businesses. To date six households have been approved for a total of $231,700 in low-interest disaster-related loans. The SBA provides disaster loans to homeowners, renters, non-profit organizations and businesses of all sizes.

  • More than 630 people impacted by the disaster visited mobile and fixed-site Disaster Recovery Centers to meet with disaster recovery specialists before the centers closed April 5. The centers were placed in five of the seven declared counties.

  • Disaster outreach has continued in Fulton County where an SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Center (DLOC), also serving DeKalb County residents and businesses, is located at City Hall East, 675 Ponce de Leon Avenue N.E. (fifth floor), Atlanta. Hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., until further notice. FEMA recovery specialists are also at the center to provide one-on-one assistance to individuals with disaster-related needs.

  • In Polk County, an SBA DLOC serving residents and businesses of Bartow, Floyd and Polk counties is at the Polk County Emergency Management Office, 55 Cline Ingram Jackson Road, Cedartown. Operating hours are Monday to Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., until Friday, April 18, at close of business.

  • FEMA-contracted housing inspectors have completed more than 696 (96 percent) housing inspections. Turnaround time from registration to inspection averages two days.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance is funded by FEMA and administered by the Georgia Department of Labor. Disaster Unemployment Assistance provides benefits for workers who would not normally qualify for unemployment compensation, including farmers, farm workers, diversified farming operators, loggers, commission-paid employees, those who are self-employed and others who are not eligible for the state's program. To date, 17 Disaster Unemployment Assistance claims have been filed. Disaster Unemployment Assistance claims may be filed at any Georgia Department of Labor Career Center through April 23.?

  • Applicants should register by calling FEMA toll-free 800-621-3362 (FEMA). Those ...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top