Applicant Briefings for Local Officials Begin Disaster Recovery in Eight Wisconsin Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
March 27, 2008
Release Number: 

MADISON, Wis. -- State and Federal officials will hold five briefings to help State, eligible local governments and non-profit organizations in eight counties apply for federal disaster assistance in the wake of the Feb.5 - 6 severe snow storm.? The designated counties are Dane, Dodge, Green, Jefferson, Milwaukee, Rock, Walworth, and Washington.

The joint announcement was made by Wisconsin Emergency Management's - State Coordinating Officer (WEM-SCO) Larry Reed and U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Federal Coordinating Officer Ed Smith. Officials from WEM and FEMA will provide information about the scope of the public assistance program.

The briefings are scheduled for:

Monday, March 31??? Dane County
10 a.m.? Witmer Hall, Room 101
Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs
2400 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53707

Tuesday, April 1 Green County
10 a.m.????? Blackhawk Tech
210 4th Ave.
Monroe, WI 53566

Wednesday, April 2?? Milwaukee County
9:30 a.m.??Classroom 1
Milwaukee County Sheriff Training Academy
9225 S. 68th Street
Franklin, WI 53132

1:30 p.m.????Washington & Dodge Counties
Town of Hartford Town Hall
3360 County Highway K
Hartford, WI 53027

Thursday, April 3?????? Jefferson, Rock & Walworth Counties
9:00 a.m.?? Lakefront Center
341 S. Freemont Street
Whitewater, WI 53190

After the briefings, teams of state and federal inspectors will schedule meetings with local officials to inspect disaster-related damages and associated costs.

The disaster aid will cover equipment usage, contracts, and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow for a 48-hour period.? These are the crucial hours when work crews clear snow from emergency routes and roads to critical facilities to permit the passage of emergency vehicles.? Related emergency protective measures such as sanding and salting, search and rescue, shelter operations, and police and fire department response may also be eligible for reimbursement.

?Under the emergency declaration, FEMA will provide reimbursement to local and state agencies for 75% of the total eligible costs, the state of Wisconsin will cover 12.5%, and the remaining 12.5% is the applicant's share.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top