Don't Miss the Deadlines for Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
March 20, 2008
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Individuals and business owners impacted by last month's severe storms and tornadoes should be careful to not miss deadlines to register for disaster assistance loans and grants, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA).

The following deadlines are important for homeowners, renters and business owners in Benton, Fayette, Haywood, Hardin, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Wayne and Williamson counties.

Monday, April 7, 2008

Registration for FEMA Assistance: Monday, April 7 at 5:00 p.m., CST, is the last day to register for FEMA's Individual Assistance Program. Those who have registered need not register again. Disaster registrants still have access to the FEMA helpline and can check the status of their application online as well. To register or to check on the status of an application, call FEMA at (800) 621 FEMA (3362), TTY (800) 462-7585 or online at

Monday, April 7, 2008

U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loan applications: April 7 is also the deadline to return the SBA loan application mailed to some applicants who registered for FEMA assistance. For assistance with the application or for more information call the SBA at (800) 629-2955 or online at

FEMA assistance, which has financial limits set by Congress, may not be enough to restore disaster survivors back to their pre-disaster condition. It is intended to help secure safe and sanitary housing and meet other critical needs so they can begin to get back on their feet.

SBA disaster loans are the primary source of Federal money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. Homeowners may borrow up to $200,000 for repair or replacement of their primary residence; homeowners and renters may borrow up to $40,000 to replace personal property; and businesses may borrow up to $1.5 million for any combination of property damage or economic injury.

Information in the SBA loan application helps determine the type of assistance an applicant may be eligible to receive. Additionally, the application must be completed and turned in to be considered for a low-interest loan to pay for repair or replacement costs not fully covered by insurance or other compensation. Although the form must be completed, loan applicants are not required to take out an approved SBA loan. To qualify for grant assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses, homeowners and renters must first be denied an SBA loan and be referred back to FEMA.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan.  However, an applicant must complete an SBA loan application to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

All FEMA assistance is subject to eligibility criteria and may vary from disaster to disaster.? SBA eligibility criteria are applied to all applicants.? Applicants who do not qualify for an SBA loan are reviewed for grant assistance in compliance with the limits established by the state.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 800-62...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top