Mobile Disaster Recovery Center Moves to Wayne County

Main Content
Release date: 
March 19, 2008
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Wayne County residents who were directly affected by the Feb. 5-6 tornadoes and severe storms can get face-to-face help by visiting the Disaster Recovery Center at the Clifton City Hall, 142 Main St., Clifton, Thursday, March? 20, 12 p.m. - 6 p.m., then 8 a.m.- 6 p.m. Friday and Saturday.

The Disaster Recovery Center, jointly operated by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA), is being supported by a specially equipped communications vehicle.

The center will provide a range of services for residents who suffered losses and damage from the tornadoes and storms including:

  • Guidance regarding disaster recovery;
  • Clarification of any written correspondence received;
  • Housing assistance and rental resource information;
  • Answers to questions, resolution of problems and referrals to agencies that may provide further assistance;
  • Status of applications being processed by FEMA;
  • U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) program information; and
  • Information from representatives of other federal, state and local agencies.

Before visiting any Disaster Recovery Center, residents should apply to FEMA by calling (800) 621-FEMA (3362), TTY (800) 462-7585 or online:

When disaster-affected residents visit a Disaster Recovery Center, they should have identification, Social Security number, insurance information, proof of address and contact numbers with them in order to expedite the application process.

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan.  However, an applicant must complete an SBA loan application to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

All FEMA assistance is subject to eligibility criteria and may vary from disaster to disaster.? SBA eligibility criteria are applied to all applicants.? Applicants who do not qualify for an SBA loan are reviewed for grant assistance in compliance with the limits established by the state.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the fraud hotline at 800-323-8603.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top