Haywood County Residents Eligible for Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
March 14, 2008
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. -- Homeowners, renters and business owners in Haywood County who suffered uninsured damage or loss as a result of last month's severe storms and tornadoes are now eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance.

The assistance can include Federal Emergency management Agency (FEMA) grants to homeowners and renters to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. The U.S. Small Business Administration can make low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters and businesses of all sizes to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.

With today's amendment to President Bush's Feb. 7 disaster declaration, 18 counties are now eligible for the Individual Assistance program:? Benton, Fayette, Hardin, Haywood, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Wayne and Williamson.

Residents are encouraged to apply with FEMA by calling (800) 621-FEMA (3362) or TTY (800) 462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired.? Applicants can also go online to www.fema.gov.??

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan.  However, an applicant must complete an SBA loan application to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

All FEMA assistance is subject to eligibility criteria and may vary from disaster to disaster.? SBA eligibility criteria are applied to all applicants.? Applicants who do not qualify for an SBA loan are reviewed for grant assistance in compliance with the limits established by the state.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the fraud hotline at 800-323-8603.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top