Three Tennessee Counties Added To Disaster List

Main Content
Release date: 
March 11, 2008
Release Number: 

NASHVILLE Tenn. -- Individuals in McNairy, Tipton and Wayne counties now are eligible for federal disaster assistance.

The action taken Monday to include the three counties for individual and household assistance is the fourth amendment to the major disaster declaration signed Feb. 7 by President Bush. It makes it possible for residents of the three counties who were adversely affected by the Feb. 5-6 tornadoes and storms to apply for grants from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA's Individual Assistance grants provide aid to eligible households and individuals for temporary lodging, inspections of damaged houses, home repair, uninsured personal property and other needs necessitated by the destruction. The activation of the Individual Assistance program also means eligible residents of McNairy, Tipton and Wayne may apply for disaster unemployment assistance and disaster legal services.

With the addition of the three counties, the number of counties eligible for the Individual Assistance program is 17: Benton, Fayette, Hardin, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Macon, Madison, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Wayne and Williamson.

Residents are encouraged to apply with FEMA by calling (800) 621-FEMA (3362) or TTY (800) 462-7585 for the hearing or speech impaired. Applicants can also go online to

FEMA's temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan.  However, an applicant must complete an SBA loan application to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.

All FEMA assistance is subject to eligibility criteria and may vary from disaster to disaster. SBA eligibility criteria are applied to all applicants. Applicants who do not qualify for an SBA loan are reviewed for grant assistance in compliance with the limits established by the state.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability, economic status or retaliation. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, you should call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) or contact your State Office of Equal Rights. If suspicious of any abuse of FEMA programs, please contact the fraud hotline at 800-323-8603.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top