Main Content

Additional Counties Eligible for December Ice Storm Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
February 28, 2008
Release Number: 

Topeka, Kan. -- The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Kansas Division of Emergency Management (KDEM) announced today that five additional counties affected by the severe winter storms are now eligible for disaster infrastructure assistance.

Gove, Logan, Wallace, Thomas, and Sheridan counties have been added to the Feb. 1, 2008 major disaster declaration. ?Sixty-five Kansas counties and entities including local governments; Indian tribes; and certain private non-profit organizations are now eligible for reimbursement of eligible costs under the Public Assistance Program. ?Applicants may now be eligible for debris removal costs and expenses for emergency protective measures taken before, during and after the storms to protect public and private property, and for permanent repair to facilities due to the Dec. 6-19 storm.

Since this storm did not meet the federal qualifications for individuals, the declaration will only address reimbursements for local government and eligible non-profit organizations, and will not address personal or business losses.

The initial counties eligible for Public Assistance are: Atchison, Barber, Barton, Brown, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Graham, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Nemaha, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Smith, Stafford, Wabaunsee, Washington, and Woodson.

The Public Assistance Program reimburses local governments, state agencies, and certain private non-profits that provide essential government services with federal funding for 75 percent of eligible costs. The State will pick up 10 percent of the eligible costs with the applicant taking responsibility for the remaining 15 percent.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: