Disaster Assistance Deadline Tomorrow; $37.2 Million Approved

Main Content
Release date: 
February 6, 2008
Release Number: 

LACEY, Wash. -- Tomorrow, Feb. 7th, is the last day for Washington individuals, families and businesses with damages from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides Dec. 1-17, 2007 to register for disaster assistance, according to officials of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Washington Emergency Management Division (EMD).

More than 10,242 people have registered for disaster assistance and more than $37.2 million in disaster assistance has been approved. Washington residents who suffered damage from the storms are eligible to register with FEMA if they live in one of the following designated counties: Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Snohomish, Thurston and Wahkiakum.

To be eligible for consideration for federal/state assistance, applicants must call FEMA or go online and register by that date. Homeowners who received a disaster loan application should complete and return it to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), even if they are not sure if they will want a loan. If SBA cannot approve an application, in most cases it will be referred for consideration by the Other Needs Assistance (ONA) program for a possible additional assistance grant.

Individual and Households Assistance to the designated counties is shown below at COB Feb. 5, 2008.

Total Registrations Housing Assistance Approved Amount Other Needs Assistance Approved Amount
Clallam: 239 $188,765 $9,985
Grays Harbor: 3,637 $1,407,206 $182,624
King: 790 $1,214,318 $115,462
Kitsap: 858 $1,280,850 $43,647
Lewis: 2,404 $9,257,337 $1,897,058
Mason: 603 $1,096,803 $52,720
Pacific: 1,030 $431,729 $30,522
Snohomish: 273 $415,964 $28,483
Thurston: 304 $638,144 $25,629
Wahkiakum: 57 $128,660 $2,258

The SBA has approved $14,060,900 for individual loans and $4,724,300 for loans to businesses, for a total of $18,785,200 of approved loans.

Anyone who suffered damage can apply for assistance by calling FEMA?s toll-free number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday (TTY 1-800-462-7585). Additionally, those affected by the disaster may apply for assistance by going online to www.fema.gov, which is available around the clock.


While thousands of disaster survivors have already received financial assistance from the State, FEMA and SBA disaster programs, some applicants may still have questions, and disaster officials are reminding applicants that the answer to their questions may just be a toll-free call away.

?If you have questions about the assistance you received or still have unmet needs, give the representatives from those disaster agencies a chance to try to resolve the issue or to provide additional information,? said State Coordinating Officer Kurt Hardin.


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top