More Than $11.2 Million in Disaster Assistance Approved for Oregonians

Main Content
Release date: 
January 25, 2008
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- More than $11 million in disaster assistance is now approved for Oregonians, according to officials with Oregon Emergency Management (OEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). A total of $11.2 million has been approved as of Jan. 24, 2008.

Oregon businesses, families and individuals with damages from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides Dec. 1-17, 2007, in disaster-declared counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance. The counties of Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill are declared for individual assistance.

Recovery Summary as of close of business Jan. 24, 2008:

  • 3,215 individuals are registered for Individual Assistance;
  • $5,345,507 in Individual Assistance has been approved;
  • 1,783 home inspections have been completed;
  • 3,164 individuals have visited the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC);
  • 1,736 registrations in Clatsop County with FEMA;
  • ?? 792 registrations in Columbia County with FEMA;
  • ???? 92 registrations in Polk County with FEMA;
  • ?? 472 registrations in Tillamook County with FEMA;
  • ???? 41 registrations in Washington County with FEMA;
  • ???? 82 registrations in Yamhill County with FEMA.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved 121 loans totaling $5,847,800 in disaster loan assistance. The SBA is the primary source of federal funds for long-term disaster recovery for owners of private property, including homeowners, renters, non-farm businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations.

These low-interest loans cover costs of repair or replacement of damaged real estate, personal property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid, and for small businesses, such loans cover working capital needs caused by the disaster.

Oregonians who live in Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Washington or Yamhill Counties who suffered damage during the December 1-17, 2007, storms should call the FEMA registration line at ?????????1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for persons with special speech or hearing needs, and register for assistance by February 7, 2008. Registration line hours are from 8 a.m.-6 p.m., Pacific Standard Time, Monday-Friday.? Applicants may also register any time online at .

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top