Only Days Left to Request Federal Funds for Ice Storm Damage

Main Content
Release date: 
January 24, 2008
Release Number: 

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. -- State and local officials, county agencies, and certain private non-profit organizations in 42 Missouri counties have only a few days remaining to submit a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) for federal funds after the severe winter storm in December 2007.

The deadline to submit the one-page RPA is Monday, January 28.

The president's disaster declaration, issued on December 27, designated 42 counties eligible for federal public assistance:? Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Audrain, Barton, Benton, Boone, Buchanan, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cedar, Clinton, Cole, Dade, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Holt, Jasper, Lincoln, Linn, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Moniteau, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Nodaway, Osage, Pike, Putnam, St. Clair, Schuyler, Scotland, Sullivan, Warren, and Worth.

Representatives from the State of Missouri Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) and the U. S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) held several detailed applicants' briefings for officials of governmental organizations, local officials and private non-profits throughout the disaster area to explain what costs are eligible and the procedures for requesting reimbursement.

Public officials and other eligible applicants who were unable to attend the briefings and want to file an RPA may call SEMA at 573-526-9114, -9131, or -9203 to submit their RPAs before the Monday deadline.

To date, 238 RPAs have been received.? Once a RPA is received it is processed by the state and a FEMA/SEMA public assistance officer is assigned to work in partnership with the applicant to provide comprehensive information, explanations, and technical assistance.? The public assistance officers assist in documenting expenses, determining eligible costs for reimbursement, and review project worksheets.? Eligible costs include debris removal, emergency protective measures (such as police, fire and medical), road and bridge repair, and repair and restoration of public buildings, utilities and recreational facilities.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top