Oregon Disaster Recovery Center Update

Main Content
Release date: 
January 16, 2008
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- Oregon Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announce the closing of the Astoria Disaster Recovery Center at 5 p.m. Saturday, January 19, 2008.? Hours are 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. through Saturday.?

A Disaster Recovery Center continues to operate in Vernonia at the Vernonia City Hall, 1001 Bridge Street, Vernonia, OR 97064 from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday-Saturday.

FEMA and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) work closely together during disasters. SBA will open a Disaster Loan Outreach Center at 9 a.m. Tuesday, January 22, at Astoria Fire & Rescue, Public Safety Building 555 30th Street (behind the Fire Fighter?s Museum) Astoria, OR 97103. The Loan Outreach Center will be open 9 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday-Friday.

SBA has another Loan Outreach Center in Sheridan at the Sheridan City Hall, 120 SW Mill St., Sheridan, OR 97378, which will re-open Thursday, January 17 and Friday, January 18, from 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.??

The SBA can loan homeowners up to $200,000 to repair or rebuild a primary residence to its pre-disaster condition.?? Homeowners and renters may be able to borrow as much as $40,000 to repair or replace personal property such as clothing, furniture and automobiles.?? Eligible businesses may be eligible for up to $1.5 million to repair or replace damaged facilities, business contents and working capital.

"At this stage of the recovery process, the emphasis for assistance is to meet the long-term needs of victims," said Abby Kershaw, state coordinating officer.? "We believe the transition of the Astoria Disaster Recovery Center to an SBA Loan Outreach Center will better meet the current needs of Oregon residents and businesses."

Residents affected by the disaster are urged to call the FEMA registration line at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), Monday-Friday to register before visiting a DRC.? The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for persons with special speech or hearing needs.? Applicants may also register online at www.fema.gov. Residents of Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties who were affected by the disaster have until FEBRUARY 7 to register for disaster assistance with FEMA.

Disaster-affected residents are urged to visit the Disaster Recovery Center to get answers to questions about registration for disaster assistance and hazard mitigation.? Information about low-interest SBA disaster loan applications and information and contact information for other state and federal programs are also available at the Recovery Center.

Homeowners, renters and business owners in six Oregon counties designated for Individual Assistance may be eligible for federal and state disaster aid.? Oregon counties declared for Individual Assistance are:? Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Yamhill and Washington.

Anyone not able to visit a Disaster Recovery Center or a Loan Outreach Center should call the SBA Help Line at 1-800-659-2955 or visit the SBA Web Site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top