More Than $7.6 Million in Disaster Assistance Approved for Oregonians

Main Content
Release date: 
January 11, 2008
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- More than $7.6 million in disaster assistance has been approved for Oregonians, according to officials with Oregon Emergency Management (OEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Oregon businesses, families and individuals who suffered damages from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides Dec. 1-17 in disaster-declared counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance. The counties of Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill were declared for individual assistance.

Recovery Summary as of close of business Jan. 10, 2008:

  • 3,010 individuals have registered for Individual Assistance;
  • $4,983,223 in Individual Assistance has been approved;
  • 1,570 home inspections have been completed;
  • 2,699 individuals have visited the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC);
  • 1,623 individuals and businesses have registered in Clatsop County with FEMA;
  • 769 registrations in Columbia County with FEMA;
  • 84 registrations in Polk County with FEMA;
  • 425 registrations in Tillamook County with FEMA;
  • 35 registrations in Washington County with FEMA;
  • 74 registrations in Yamhill County with FEMA.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved 53 loans totaling $2,681,300 in disaster loan assistance. The SBA is the primary source of federal funds for long-term disaster recovery for owners of private property, including homeowners, renters, non-farm businesses of all sizes and private non-profit organizations. These low-interest loans cover costs of repair or replacement of damaged real estate, personal property and business assets not fully covered by insurance or other aid, and for small businesses, such loans cover working capital needs caused by the disaster.

Homeowners, renters and business owners, who sustained damage from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides, may register or update their information by calling the FEMA? tele-registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired or by registering online at To speak to a person face-to-face, disaster affected individuals may visit any DRC, but it is recommended to register by telephone or on-line prior to visiting the DRC.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top