Wahkiakum County Gets Individual Assistance And Recovery Center

Main Content
Release date: 
January 9, 2008
Release Number: 

LACEY, Wash. -- The residents of Wahkiakum County have been added to those designated for federal disaster assistance, federal and state officials announced today. Residents and business owners who suffered property damages or losses from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that began Dec. 1, can now register for federal and state disaster assistance, according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

There are now 10 counties approved for federal individual assistance: Clallam, Grays Harbor, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Snohomish, Thurston and Wahkiakum.

A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) opens at noon Thursday, January 10, 2008.

River Street Building, Training Room
25 River Street, Unit D
Cathlamet, WA 98612

The DRC hours on opening day will be 12:00pm - 6:30pm. Thereafter, it will be open Monday through Saturday from 10:00am - 6:30pm until further notice.

Disaster Recovery Centers in the designated counties serve those affected by the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides that began Dec. 1. DRCs provide residents an opportunity to meet face to face with representatives from state and federal agencies to find answers to questions they may have about the recovery process. People should register with FEMA before coming to the DRC. Some phones and computers are available at the DRCs for those without access.

Officials encourage those affected by the disaster to apply for assistance immediately by going online to www.fema.gov or by calling FEMA's toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. local time Monday through Saturday until further notice. Those with speech or hearing impairments may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

A wide range of assistance is now available to residents including grants for temporary disaster housing, other serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or assistance programs.

When applying for help, people should be sure to have the following information available:

  • Current phone number;
  • Both the current address and the address of the damaged property;
  • Social Security number, if available;
  • General financial information;
  • Bank account information for direct deposit.

FEMA disaster assistance covers basic needs only and will not normally compensate applicants for all losses. Government assistance will help pay for basic needs not covered under insurance but will not duplicate insurance or other assistance. Some disaster aid does not have to be paid back, while other help may come in the form of loans.

SBA representatives are at all Disaster Recovery Centers to meet individually with each resident or business owner to answer any questions about SBA's disaster loan program, help them complete their disaster loan application and accept their completed applications.  Anyone not able to visit a center should call 1-800-659-2955 for SBA assistance or visit the website at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top