Disaster Unemployment Benefits Deadline Approaching

Main Content
Release date: 
January 8, 2008
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available to those Oregonians who became unemployed as a direct result of the declared disaster of Dec. 1-17, according to the Oregon Emergency Management Agency, (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency, (FEMA).? Residents of Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook, Yamhill, Polk and Washington counties may be eligible.

With the announcement dates being different for the involved counties, the 30-day application periods are as follows, according to the State of Oregon:

Clatsop, Columbia, Tillamook:????????? December 13, 2007 to January 11, 2008
Yamhill, Polk:???????????????????????????????????? December 19, 2007 to January 17, 2008
Washington:??????????????????????????????????????? December 27, 2007 to January 25, 2008

The Oregon Employment Department administers the Disaster Unemployment Assistance program for FEMA and provides re-employment services.? Individuals eligible for regular unemployment benefits are not eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Unemployment payments for up to 26 weeks may be available for workers who temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster or for those who do not normally qualify for state benefits, such as self-employed individuals.

In addition to individuals who lost jobs directly due to the disaster, those eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance may include:

  • Individuals unable to reach their job.
  • Individuals prevented from beginning new work.
  • Individuals unable to work due to injury as a result of the disaster.
  • Individuals who became head of household due to a death caused by the disaster.

Unemployment is a direct result of the major disaster if the unemployment resulted from:

  • The physical damage or destruction of the place of employment;
  • The physical inaccessibility of the place of employment due to its closure by the federal, state, or local government in immediate response to the disaster; or
  • Lack of work, or loss of revenues, if, prior to the disaster, the employer or self-employed business received at least a majority of its revenue or income from an entity in the major disaster area that was damaged or destroyed in the disaster or an entity in the major disaster area closed by the federal, state, or local government.

To file a Disaster Unemployment Assistance Claim, individuals need to contact WorkSource Oregon Employment Department Unemployment Insurance Center at 1-877-877-1781.? When contacting the Unemployment Insurance Center, individuals need to have their social security number and recent work history available.? Individuals should file as soon as possible, although they are allowed to file up to 30 days after the announcement date.

To register for disaster assistance with FEMA, call 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), or you may register any time online at www.fema.gov.? The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for those with special speech or hearing needs.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top