Disaster Recovery Center to Open in Clatskanie, Oregon

Main Content
Release date: 
December 31, 2007
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- The Oregon Emergency Management Agency (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will open at 9 a.m. Thursday, January 3, at the Clatskanie Fire Station, 280 SE Third Street, Clatskanie, OR, 97016.

It will be open daily from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. through Saturday, January 5, 2008.?

Homeowners, renters and business owners in six Oregon counties designated for Individual Assistance may be eligible for federal and state disaster aid. Oregon counties declared for Individual Assistance are:? Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, Yamhill and Washington.

Residents affected by the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides December 1-17 are encouraged to register for disaster assistance before visiting the DRC by calling the telephone registration line, 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA), which is open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.? The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for persons with special speech or hearing needs. Applicants may also register online at www.fema.gov.

There are also DRCs in Tillamook, Seaside and Vernonia.

Disaster-affected residents are urged to visit any DRC to get answers to questions about registration for disaster assistance and hazard mitigation. Information about low-interest U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loan applications and information and contact information for other state and federal programs are also available at the DRC.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top