FEMA Approves More Than $4 Million For Oregon Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 28, 2007
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- More than $4 million in disaster assistance has been approved for Oregon, according to officials with Oregon Emergency Management (OEM) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Oregon businesses, families and individuals who suffered damages from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides Dec. 1-17 in disaster-declared counties are eligible to apply for disaster assistance. The counties of Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook,Yamhill and Washington were declared for individual assistance.

Recovery Summary as of close of business Dec. 27, 2007:

  • 2,321 individuals have registered for Individual Assistance.
  • $4,078,641.48 in Individual Assistance has been approved. 
  • 1,182 home inspections have been completed.
  • 1,627 individuals have visited the Disaster Recovery Centers (DRC).

Homeowners, renters and business owners, who sustained damage from the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides, may register or update their information by calling the FEMA  tele-registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired or by registering online at www.fema.gov. To speak to a person face-to-face, disaster affected individuals may visit any DRC, but it is recommended to register by telephone or on-line prior to visiting the DRC.

The three Oregon DRC locations are:

Vernonia City Hall  
1001 Bridge Street
Vernonia, OR 97064                                   

Seaside Civic and Convention Center
415 1st Avenue        
Seaside, OR 97138

Tillamook County Sheriff's Office
ATV Building     
5995 Long Prairie Road,
Tillamook, OR 97138

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top