Disaster Recovery Centers to Open in Clatsop and Tillamook Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
December 15, 2007
Release Number: 

SALEM, Ore. -- In an effort to reach out to disaster-declared counties, a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) is opening in Clatsop County on Monday, Dec. 17 and in Tillamook County on Tuesday, Dec. 18, said officials with Oregon Emergency Management (OEM), the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), and the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). A DRC opened in Columbia County on Dec. 13. Applicants in any declared county may receive services at any DRC location.

Representatives of state and federal agencies will be available to answer questions and provide recovery information. Written materials about various assistance programs are also available to individuals and business owners.

Before visiting any of the DRCs, disaster victims are urged to register for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or by going on-line at www.fema.gov. The TTY number is 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired. Those who have questions may visit a DRC to meet with disaster recovery specialists. The schedule for Disaster Recovery Centers follows:

DRCs are open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday-Saturday. The DRC in Vernonia will also be open
Sunday, Dec.16 from 1 p.m. -5 p.m.

Columbia County (Opened Dec. 13)
Vernonia City Hall
1001 Bridge Street
Vernonia, OR 97064

Clatsop County (Opening Monday, Dec. 17)
Seaside Civic and Convention Center
415 1st Avenue
Seaside, OR 97138

Tillamook County (Opening Tuesday, Dec. 18)
Tillamook County Sheriff's Office
ATV Building
5995 Long Prairie Road
Tillamook, OR 97141

The five Oregon counties declared for Individual Assistance are Clatsop, Columbia, Polk, Tillamook, and Yamhill. Individual assistance, to be coordinated by OEM and FEMA, can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) also will be available to cover residential and business losses not fully compensated by insurance.

SBA Customer Service Representatives are at the DRCs to issue loan applications, answer questions about SBA's disaster loan program, explain the application process, and help each individual and business owner complete their application.

SBA offers low-interest disaster loans to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and private nonprofit organizations for losses not fully covered by insurance. The SBA may loan up to $200,000 to repair or replace homes and up to $40,000 to repair or replace personal property. Up to $1.5 million is available for uncompensated business disaster losses.

Residents and business owners can receive information about SBA disaster loans and help with the application process by calling the SBA at 1-800-659-2955 or visiting the SBA web site at www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top