Only One Week Remains to Register

Main Content
Release date: 
November 19, 2007
Release Number: 

ROCKFORD, Ill. -- Only one week remains for residents and business owners in the disaster declared counties who sustained damage from the severe storms and flooding that occurred Aug. 20-31 to apply for disaster assistance.

The deadline to apply for disaster assistance is November 26. The eligible counties are DeKalb, Grundy, Kane, LaSalle, Lake and Will.

"For individuals who have already applied, their cases will continue to be processed," said Tony Russell, Federal Coordinating Officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).? "We want people to understand that Monday, November 26, is merely the end of the 60-day application period, which began September 25 when President Bush issued a major disaster declaration for the state."

The deadline to apply for SBA assistance is Nov. 26, 2007 for non-profit groups, individuals and businesses with physical losses. SBA officials encourage anyone who has received a disaster loan application to turn it in as soon as possible. Failure to complete and return your SBA loan application will stop consideration for other assistance programs, including additional grants.

To date, 1870 individuals and business owners have applied for disaster assistance in the eligible counties.? More than $4.97 million in grants has been approved for individuals impacted by the disaster, and the SBA has issued 1567 applications and approved $1,113,900 dollars in loans.

There are two easy ways to begin the application process. Residents may call FEMA's toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired.? Both numbers are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday. Residents with Internet access may apply online at Valuable recovery information is also available on the website.

Disaster officials also stated that residents waiting for a final insurance settlement should contact the FEMA Helpline at the same toll-free number above to update their claim information.?

The SBA Disaster Loan Outreach Centers that were established to assist residents and business owners with the application process will close on Monday November 26. Individuals who need to visit a center for assistance should do so promptly. The locations are:

De Kalb County DLOC
Monsanto Building
NIU Monsanto Campus ?
Bethany Road Entrance
3100 Sycamore Road
De Kalb, IL 60115
Hours: M-F; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

La Salle County DLOC
Seneca Village Hall
340 N. Cash Street
Seneca, IL 61360
Hours: M-F; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

FEMA coordinates the federal government's role in preparing for, preventing, mitigating the effects of, responding to, and recovering from all domestic disasters, whether natural or man-made, including acts of terror.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top